Meet the Monks

St. Meinrad, IN

Population: 537

Last week, we arrived in St. Meinrad, Indiana—a greatly anticipated stop on the tour. The National Players have been performing in St. Meinrad for 69 years. Father Hartke, the founder of NP, created a partnership with this Catholic monastery very early on in the company’s history, and we have been going back ever since. The annual visit of the National Players is a tradition for both the town and the monks of St. Meinrad.

We stayed in a charming old farmhouse, complete with a ping-pong table, crucifixions, and twin beds galore. Our gracious host’s name was Father Jeremy. Father Jeremy has lived in St. Meinrad almost all his life and has been serving as a monk and priest at St. Meinrad’s for almost 50 years. However, he’s not what you’d imagine as your typical Catholic priest. The first night we spent in the house (Fat Tuesday, I might add), Father Jeremy came over to watch a spooky movie with us. I guess I can check “Watch Rosemary’s Baby With a Catholic Priest” off my bucket list!

On Ash Wednesday, Father Jeremy took a group of us to see President Lincoln’s boyhood home. Lincoln lived in Indiana from 1816 to 1830. We saw where his home was originally built, as well as a replica of the home. We visited his mother’s grave as well. Father Jeremy also brought us to the Lincoln State Park Amphitheatre. This is a gorgeous outdoor theatre where the National Players have previously performed. If we hadn’t been freezing our faces off, we would have loved to perform there too! That night, the company went to St. Benedict’s Brew Works, which is the restaurant/bar on the grounds of The Sisters of St. Benedict in Ferdinand, IN. It is believed to be the only U.S. craft brewery on the grounds of a women’s religious community. We enjoyed their Lenten Fish Fry, as well as delicious craft beers (my favorite was the Dark Souls). Later that night, I went back to the house and enjoyed all of the stars from the front porch.

On Friday, Father Jeremy took a few of us to tour the St. Benedict Cathedral, home of the Sisters of St. Benedict in Ferdinand, IN. This is one of the most gorgeous churches I have ever seen in my life. Additionally, he took us to visit the Monte Cassino Shrine, another beautiful place of worship and meditation. I have never felt so religious in my life! While we were on this tour, Father Jeremy happened to mention that he had performed before and that, in the past, the monks have occasionally starred in National Players productions. BRAIN BLAST! I asked Father Jeremy if he would like to appear in our production of Twelfth Night that evening as the Holy Man who briefly appears to marry Olivia and Sebastian. He eagerly agreed! He asked if we had a costume big enough for him. We all laughed and said, “You’re wearing it, Father!” Let me tell you—Father Jeremy had an incredible cameo. He was hilarious and absolutely stole the show!

After the performance, we headed to the Unstable, which is the bar on St. Meinrad’s campus. We drank beer, ate pizza, and played pool with the monks and locals. There were people there who have been coming to see the National Players perform for years! We felt like true St. Meinrad celebs. Chatting with some of the younger men studying to be monks was fascinating. I am so intrigued by the monk lifestyle—a life of profound solitude within an intimate community.

On Saturday, Father Jeremy took us on a tour of the St. Meinrad Archabbey. As we filed into the church and took our seats in the pews, we could see flashes of lightning in the stained glass windows. Thunder echoed through the building, underscoring Father Jeremy’s lecture on the space. He took us to the Chapter Room, where the ceilings were painted in stunning colors. I learned a lot about the seminary and the life of a Benedictine monk. That night, we performed Around the World in 80 Days and ended our night partying at the Unstable. Also, I saw two shooting stars that night, which was pretty magical. (And yes, I definitely made two wishes.)

On our last day, some of us attended an afternoon prayer at the church. I had never been to a Catholic service before, so this was quite the experience for me. The monks’ singing was gorgeous. Before we left, Father Jeremy gave us each a medal of St. Benedict to remember our time in St. Meinrad. This is particularly special to me, because he is apparently the patron saint of inflammatory diseases. I will hold him close next time I feel a flare coming on! That night, we made another pilgrimage to Brew Works for some beer, hot wings, and pizza with Father Jeremy. We got to talk to him about why he became a monk, as well as his thoughts on gay marriage, our current political administration, and the Catholic Church as a whole.

My time in St. Meinrad was meditative and rejuvenating. I loved the quiet stillness of the campus. I did yoga each morning and watched the stars at night. Father Jeremy is not someone I will soon forget. One particular bit of wisdom he shared with us will definitely stay with me. While talking about the virtues and teachings of the monks at St. Meinrad, he told us that St. Meinrad is the saint of hospitality. The monks aim to be as hospitable and welcoming as possible, which I absolutely felt during my time there. Father Jeremy quoted the prologue of the Rule of St. Benedict—“Incline the ear of your heart.” In other words, they listen to others with their hearts. I think the world could use a little more inclining and listening with our hearts, and I’m certainly going to try to adopt this mantra myself.

Your Dear Lady Disdain,

Jamie

Leave a comment